Freedom Is Just Another Word...

Politispeak….Is all this is…Bullcrap..

Office of Sen. Al Franken
November 7, 2013

Dear Maddmedic,

Thank you for contacting me about the recent federal government shutdown. I appreciate hearing from you on this important subject.

This shutdown never should have happened. I strongly opposed it, not only because it was unnecessary and misguided, but also because it hurt families, seniors, veterans, businesses, and farmers in Minnesota and across the country. The uncertainty it caused damaged our economy and exacerbated the effects of unwise cuts put in place earlier under the budget sequester. Because of the effects of the shutdown on vulnerable Minnesotans, I chose to donate my salary during the shutdown to a hunger-relief organization that works throughout Minnesota to help people in need get food.

To end the shutdown and also prevent a damaging default on our nation’s financial obligations, Congress enacted funding for government operations through January 15, 2014. Before then, I hope we…

View original post 138 more words

