Freedom Is Just Another Word...

Office of Sen. Al Franken
May 1, 2015

Dear Madd,

Thank you for contacting me regarding the debate over gun policy. I appreciate hearing from you on this important issue.

I have been deeply saddened by the horrific shootings that have struck our communities far too many times in recent years. Unfortunately, tragic shootings are not uncommon. Around thirty Americans die every day in gun-related homicides.

After the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012, I traveled across Minnesota to listen to community members’ thoughts on reducing gun violence and respecting Americans’ rights under the Second Amendment. I support the rights of Minnesotans to own firearms for collection, protection, and recreation, and I believe that we can continue to honor our state’s tradition of responsible gun ownership while taking commonsense steps to protect our children and make our communities safer.

One of these steps is updating the federal background check system. Background checks have…

View original post 436 more words

