Freedom Is Just Another Word...

Office of Sen. Al Franken
February 16, 2017

Dear Madd,

Thank you for contacting me regarding President Trump’s Supreme Court nominee Neil Gorsuch. I appreciate hearing from you about this issue.

President Trump’s nomination of Judge Gorsuch is meant to fill an opening on the Supreme Court that has been left vacant since the passing of Antonin Scalia in February of last year. President Obama nominated Judge Merrick Garland–a highly qualified consesus builder–to fill the vacancy, but Senate Republicans blocked consideration of Judge Garland in an unprecedented act of obstructionism. This should not have happened.

I take my constitutional responsibility as a Senator to offer advice and consent on Supreme Court nominees very seriously, and I have begun to closely examine Judge Gorsuch’s background and writings. What I have seen thus far gives me serious concerns about his judicial philosophy–especially on issues like access to justice, corporate accountability, workers’ rights, and women’s health. I was…

View original post 233 more words

